Thursday, December 12, 2013

Cover Reveal & Giveaway: WITCH RISING by Amber Argyle

Witch Rising

A Witch Fall Prequel

Release Day and Cover Blitz

It's only 99 pennies! 

A ship burns, sinking into the depthless waves. There is only one survivor. A child hunted for the power of her song. Hidden away on an isolated island, Lilette buries the knowledge of her power deep, convinced it is the reason for the deaths of those she loves.

But she can’t run from who she is. And when her secret is revealed, all that can save her are the things she’s forgotten. It’s time to rise up and become what she was always meant to be. The most powerful witch ever born.

I'm so excited to have this book out! My goal is to have Witch Rising ranking in the top 100 paid books on Amazon. Please purchase your copy today (link below). Copy and paste this post into your blog and share on the release on your FB and twitter accounts. 
Tweet: #ReleaseDay for #WitchRising by @amberargyle! Only 99 pennies. #mustread #kindle #nook

Wednesday, March 27, 2013

Blog Tour: REVELATIONS OF THE SOUL by J.L. Vallance


“Evangeline had prayed Spiro would be able to protect Vivienne, prayed that he’d keep her safe. The truth was, no one would be able to protect her from what was coming, and Evangeline knew that now. She knew that Vivienne was going to have to fight if she wanted to survive.”
Aedan, Lord of the Daemonium, has claimed Vivienne Drake as his prize and will stop at nothing to keep her. As his captive, Vivienne is forced to spend her days interacting with the monster that’s haunted her dreams for the past fourteen years.
Truths of her mother’s past continue to surface, bringing to light the reality of who Vivienne Drake truly is. All the while, Vivienne can do nothing but watch as the façade of the carefully constructed life her mother fashioned crumbles around her; leaving devastation in its wake.

About the author:

J.L. Vallance is the author of Deep Into the Soul and Revelations of the Soul (The Guild Series). She’s a wife, mom, and nurse from northern Ohio. She lives her days fueled by Red Bull, believing sleep is overrated.

*Tour Giveaway*

a Rafflecopter giveaway



Magnolia flower clip

^Review to come soon!

Monday, March 11, 2013

Review: FINN FINNEGAN by Darby Karchut

Finnegan MacCullen: 
a thirteen-year-old apprentice with the famous Irish temperament.
Gideon Lir: 
a legendary Celtic warrior with a bit of a temper of his own.

Secretly, these blue-collar warriors battle the hobgoblins infesting their suburban neighborhood...when they are not battling each other.

Finn (not bleedin' Finnegan) MacCullen is eager to begin his apprenticeship. He soon discovers the ups and downs of hunting monsters in a suburban neighborhood under the demanding tutelage of the Knight, Gideon Lir. Both master and apprentice are descendents of the Tuatha De Danaan, a magical race of warriors from Ireland. Scattered long ago to the four corners of the world, the De Danaan wage a two thousand year old clandestine battle with their ancient enemy, the Amandán, a breed of goblin-like creatures.

Now with the beasts concentrating their attacks on Finn, he and his master must race to locate the lost Spear of the Tuatha De Danaan, the only weapon that can destroy the Amandán, all the while hiding his true identity from his new friends, Rafe and Savannah, twins whose South African roots may hold a key to Finn's survival.

Armed with a bronze dagger, some ancient Celtic magic, and a hair-trigger temper, Finn is about to show his enemies the true meaning of "fighting Irish."

Image and description from GoodReads 

When I started FINN FINNEGAN, I immediately knew that I was going to love the characters even if I didn't know where they were going to take me. I even read through the characters lines using the same Irish accent. Finn (not Finnegan) is a quick-witted, temperamental thirteen year old. He has grown up with his aunt and uncle along with their many children and now he is finally the only child is a house with a Knight. Not exactly common for most thirteen year olds, but for his race of people, the Tuatha De Danaan's, that is something to which they look forward. For Finn, training with a Knight, especially one such as Gideon Lir, is going to change his life. Earning a torc, a sort of necklace that Knights wear, is somewhat of a coming of age experience. To earn his torc, Finn must face the Amandan, kill one, and survive.

Finn was a fun character to get to know and to follow in the story. His relationship with Gideon really isn't a master and his apprentice, but more of a father figure and and son. It's not only because of how much they care about each other but also because of the way they interact and are teaching each other (Gideon is certainly learning almost as much as Finn). The story was really emotional at times and I was experiencing the same feelings the characters were expressing.

I particularly enjoyed the journal writings by both Finn and Gideon because you got to see the differences and similarities in them and how they perceive each learning experience. It was also a chance to see them unguarded. The next book, GIDEON'S SPEAR, can not come out soon enough. I will just have to bide my time by re-reading FINN FINNEGAN. While this is a Middle-Grade novel and I typically read Young Adult, I still found it a great read with the interesting Celtic lore and the great writing by Darby Karchut.

-This review is based on the Advanced Copy and not the final published version.

Thank you, Spencer Hill Press, for the review copy!! =)

Monday, March 4, 2013

Blog Tour: Kiss of Fire by Rebecca Ethington

Amazon Author:
Amazon Buy link:
Barnes and Noble: Website:
Twitter: @RebEthington

Book trailer:

About the Author

Rebecca Ethington has been telling stories since she was small. First, with writing crude scripts, and then on stage with years of theatrical performances. The Imdalind Series is her first stint into the world of literary writing. Rebecca is a mother to two, and wife to her best friend of 14 years. She was born and raised in the mountains of Salt Lake City, and hasn’t found the desire to leave yet. Her days are spent writing, running, and enjoying life with her amazing family.


Joclyn Despain has a scar. In fact, it is almost like a brand on her skin. She doesn’t know why it appeared on her neck, but she doesn’t want anyone to see it, including her best friend Ryland, who knows everything else about her. The scar is the reason she hides herself behind baggy clothes, and won’t let the idea of kissing Ryland enter her mind, no matter how much she wants to.
The scar is the reason she is being hunted.
If only she knew that she was.
If only she had known that the cursed stone her estranged father sent for her 16th birthday would trigger a change in her. Now, she is being stalked by a tall blonde man, and is miraculously throwing her high school bully ten feet in the air.
Joclyn attempts to find some answers and the courage to follow her heart. When Ryland finds her scar; but he knows what it means, and who will kill her because of it.

I loved this book from the very first lines. Joclyn is a character to which many can relate. She wears over-sized hoodies and jeans to blend in at school and even at home while her mother tries her best to get her to wear clothes that make her look more feminine. Joclyn has different reasons for hiding though; her oddly-shaped scar stands out much more than she would like and she is afraid of it being noticed. Her best friend Ryland is is the son of Edmund LaRue, her mother's employer. They have been friends since Joclyn was five, but Edmund has recently forbidden Ryland from associating with Joclyn and tarnishing his "perfection".

The writing flows very well and transformed the words into the scenes as I read. It was easy to follow along and get into the mind of Joclyn. I often felt like I was a spectator wanting to call out to her or Ryland. It was fun to follow Joclyn's path. I was often stopping myself from skipping ahead because it was so good and I wanted to see what was going to happen next but I didn't want to miss anything either. My mind has been in Joclyn's world for some time after finishing KISS OF FIRE and I think it will be hard to move on to another story for a while.

A HUGE thanks to Good Choice Reading for allowing me to participate in the tour! =)

Monday, February 4, 2013

Trailer Reveal: THE WATCHER by Lisa Voisin

Author Lisa Voisin’s THE WATCHER will be releasing exactly one month from today, on March 4th, 2013 and we’re super excited to be able to share with our blog’s readers a short excerpt from the book and to be a part of the book’s awesome trailer reveal!

There is also a giveaway for a pre-order copy of THE WATCHER for US/Canada residents. So be sure to enter below.

THE WATCHER is author Lisa Voisin’s debut novel and is a book Eileen Cook says, “…is sure to keep readers turning the pages late into the night.”

And after having read both the excerpt and the book’s description, we couldn’t agree more! But we’ll let you decide for yourself. They’re both included below.
As is the book’s wicked cool trailer!

With some gothic techno beats, super cool images and a description that is meant to tease, this trailer totally sets the mood for this story. What do you think?

About the Book


Author: Lisa Voisin

Publisher: InkSpell Publishing

Publication date: March 4, 2013

Pages: 508

Format: Available to pre-order in Paperback

Find it: Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Inkspell | Kobo

Millennia ago, he fell from heaven for her.

Can he face her without falling again?

Fascinated with ancient civilizations, seventeen-year-old Mia Crawford dreams of becoming an archaeologist. She also dreams of wings—soft and silent like snow—and somebody trying to steal them.

When a horrible creature appears out of thin air and attacks her, she knows Michael Fontaine is involved, though he claims to know nothing about it. Secretive and aloof, Michael evokes feelings in Mia that she doesn’t understand. Images of another time and place haunt her. She recognizes them—but not from any textbook.

About the Author

A Canadian-born author, Lisa Voisin spent her childhood daydreaming and making up stories, but it was her love of reading and writing in her teens that drew her to Young Adult fiction.

When she's not writing, you'll find her meditating or hiking in the mountains to counter the side effects of drinking too much coffee.

She lives in Vancouver, B.C. with her fiance and their two cats.

Find her: Twitter | Facebook | Website | Blog

Instead of saying more, he brushed his fingertips along my cheek, and his halo glimmered. I could hear the waves slapping the rocks behind us, the wind driving them in. That same wind whipped against my skin, but the touch of his hand on my face was all I could think about. It sent a current through both of us and filled me with longing for something I wasn’t sure I understood.

“I’m sorry.” He stepped back and shoved his hands into his pockets as the light around him faded. “You don’t know what it’s like. Being near you now, remembering those moments we had…” His hair blew into his eyes, but this time he didn’t move. I wanted to brush it back, but I didn’t know how he’d react. Would touching him be bad?

“You want to know who you were?” he asked. “You may look different, but you’re the same. I look into your eyes and see you.” He took in a deep breath, fixing his attention on the horizon. I’d seen and heard so much now that the logical part of my brain had long since given up arguing with me. I could feel what he was saying was true. All of it.

  • ONE pre-order copy of THE WATCHER by Lisa Voisin open to US/Canada.
  • Must be 13 or older to enter.
  • ONE entry per household.
  • Winner will be announced in the Rafflecopter and contacted by email.
  • Winner will have 48 hours after notification to respond or another winner will be chosen.
Enter below...
a Rafflecopter giveaway
A HUGE thanks to Rockstar Book Tours for allowing me to participate in the trailer reveal! Thank you Ladies!

Monday, January 28, 2013

Book Blast and Giveaway: Leopard Moon by Jeanette Battista

To help spread the word about the fact that Jeanette Battista's LEOPARD MOON, the first book in the Moon series, is available for free at Amazon for the Kindle until the end of the month we've invited the author to the blog to share a guest post about her experience writing the book.

The Moon series consists of four books - LEOPARD MOON, JACKAL MOON, HYENA MOON and HUNTER MOON - and is a series author Melissa Marr says, "... is filled with action and romance, shape shifters and strong heroines."

To check out all the books in the series on Goodreads, CLICK HERE.

The guest post follows below, but first here's some information about the awesome book and author and places you can find them both online!

About the Book

Title: LEOPARD MOON (Moon Series #1)

Author: Jeanette Battista

Publisher: CreateSpace

Release date: March 7, 2012

Pages: 204

Formats: Paperback, eBook

Find it: Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes & Noble

***Kindle format free at Amazon - HERE***


How do you disappear when you come from a family of predators?

A wereleopard, Kess is forced to flee her home and family in Miami once her brother's obsession with her turns violent. She runs from city to city, trying to stay one step ahead of the investigators her family has dispatched to bring her home. Kess ends up in the mountains of North Carolina and attracts the attention of Cormac, a young man with a secret of his own. As she attempts to live as normal a life as her were-nature allows, her brother Sek continues to hunt for her. He believes she is the key to revitalizing their weakened clan and is driven to extreme measures to ensure their continued existence. As Kess' relationship with Cormac deepens, Sek closes in, threatening Cormac's life and Kess' freedom.

When the moon rises, the hunt is on….

Dimitri Williams Photography
Source: Author's website
About the Author

Jeanette Battista graduated with an English degree with a concentration in medieval literature which explains her possibly unhealthy fixation on edged weapons and cathedral architecture. She spent a summer in England and Scotland studying the historical King Arthur, which did nothing to curb her obsession. To satisfy her adrenaline cravings—since sword fighting is not widely accepted in these modern times—she rode a motorcycle at ridiculously high speeds, got some tattoos, and took kickboxing and boxing classes. She gave up the bike when her daughter came along, although she still gets pummeled at the gym on a regular basis.

When she’s not writing or working, Jeanette spends time with family, hikes, reads, makes decadent brownies, buys killer boots, and plays Pocket Frogs. She wishes there were more hours in the day so she could actually do more of these things. She lives with her daughter and their ancient, ill-tempered cat in North Carolina.

Find her: Goodreads | Website | Blog | Twitter | Facebook

I'll be honest--I wasn't planning to write a book like Leopard Moon. I had an entirely different story in my head at the time, but it just wasn't coming into clear focus. That's the funny way writing works though: there I am, sitting at a red light on my way to meet my friends for a birthday martini and pedicure, listening to Florence + the Machine and WHAM! The song Howl comes on and this whole lovely scene just starts unfolding in my head. There was Kess, running through the woods, ripping off of her clothes as she triggered a change into a black leopard. And there was Cormac, standing in a different part of the woods being beaten mercilessly by the villain. I didn't know Sek was going to turn out to be Kess' brother, but I did know who he was as a character and what he wanted.

It was truly a gift: the entire final fight scene just unspooled itself along with the song lyrics. Each beat of the song matched a key point in the fight. The more I listened, the more I realized that the lyrics could apply to all of the characters in the main triangle at some point in the story I suddenly wanted to tell. And I wanted that story to be more than just boy meeting girl--I wanted that story to be about girl saving boy, but more importantly about girl saving herself. The song Howl gave me Kess first and Sekhmet second, so a lot of what I tried to do with them was to show them as two halves of a whole, two sides of a coin. Howl, at least to me, wasn't a love song at all--it was a song about possession and obsession and all of those things that show up in our animal drives. that we'd like to forget exists.

So when I began to craft Kess and Sek, Howl played on a continuous loop. And though the song speaks of wolves, I knew these two had to be cats. Wolves have a more social nature and are more easily understood by us--I think it comes from them being a a precursor to our beloved dogs. Cats are an unknown quantity, strange and separate, even if they choose to share space with us. I wanted real darkness there, not just a brief bit of danger that would be easily resolved. Obsession and mental illness gave Sek that scariness, but also--I hope--a bit of sympathy. He really does love his sister and wants what is best for her and his clan. I never intended to excuse his behavior, but I did want to try and understand it.

Just like the song made me understand that narrator of that story. I can only hope I did half so well.

To meet Kess, Cormac and Sek in this first book in the Moon series, head over to Amazon to download the Kindle eBook for free until January 31st.

It can be found HERE!

A HUGE thanks to Rockstar Book Tours for allowing me to participate in the book blast! Thanks Ladies!

Wednesday, January 23, 2013

Cover Reveal: Kiss of Fire by Rebecca Ethington

Joclyn Despain has a scar. In fact, it is almost like a brand on her skin. She doesn’t know why it appeared on her neck, but she doesn’t want anyone to see it, including her best friend Ryland, who knows everything else about her. The scar is the reason she hides herself behind baggy clothes, and won’t let the idea of kissing Ryland enter her mind, no matter how much she wants to.

The scar is the reason she is being hunted.

If only she knew that she was.

If only she had known that the cursed stone her estranged father sent for her 16th birthday would trigger a change in her. Now, she is being stalked by a tall blonde man, and is miraculously throwing her high school bully ten feet in the air.

Joclyn attempts to find some answers and the courage to follow her heart. When Ryland finds her scar; but he knows what it means, and who will kill her because of it.

Find Rebecca Ethington...

Books Available at Amazon and Barnes and Noble

GIVEAWAY: Paperback copies (US ONLY) of Kiss of Fire and Eyes of Ember, or, if you live outside the US and you win this giveaway, you will automatically win ebook copies. :) 

Good luck! 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

A HUGE thanks to Good Choice Reading for allowing me to participate in the cover reveal! Thank you! =)

Saturday, January 12, 2013

Cover Reveal: Everlost by Brenda Pandos

Everlost, book #3 of Mer Tales 
Publisher: Obsidian Mountain Publishing
Release Date: 2/28/2013

Goodreads: everlost
With one kiss, Tatiana has discovered a love for a man she’d hated—the prince of Natatoria. Through the botched rescue attempt by her father against this union, an army of rebels has revealed their identity and intentions—treason. When the King is fatally injured, Azor takes things into his own hands. No one is safe as mers are forced to choose sides. Betamers take the blame, including Tatiana’s family’s closest friend, Badger, and the punishment is death.
Caught between the bond and her true feelings, Tatiana, the future Queen, must overcome the promise to fight for what’s right and uncover the truths of the past or all will become Everlost.
Want to know more?
Check out Brenda’s blog at: 

Brenda’s Links:

Brenda Pandos’ Website:
Goodreads Page:
Author Picture:  
Author Bio:
Brenda Pandos lives in California with her husband and two boys. She attempts to balance her busy life filled with writing, being a mother and wife, and spending time with friends and family. Working formerly as an I.T. Administrator, she never believed her imagination would be put to good use. After her son was diagnosed with an autism spectrum disorder her life completely changed. Writing paranormal romance became something she could do at home while tending to the new needs of her family, household, and herself.
Three years later, Brenda now has five books published, The Talisman Trilogy: The Emerald Talisman, The Sapphire Talisman, and The Onyx Talisman, and Mer Tales: Everblue and Evergreen. She is currently working on the third book of Mer Tales, Everlost, coming February 2013. 

Thursday, January 10, 2013

Triple Cover Reveal: Cryptid Tales series

Reveal (Cryptid Tales #1) eBook Version Free on Amazon and Barnes & Noble!!!!!!
Shay could be the key to ending a war that humans don't know exist. Of a race of beings that aren't real, or are they?

Shay Tafford's childhood has been fatherless, filled instead with memories of speaking to the dead. She is forced to hide her unique ability from those living around her. That's why it's been comforting to have Jeremy, a child ghost, as her confidante. But recently he's been absent, perhaps lost as her father is. When Shay meets Hugh, the guy she's had a crush on for weeks, and finds he can speak to ghosts too she's just starting to find a normalcy in her life.
But as Hugh reveals the truth to Shay, about who she really is and about what it is she can do, he erases all chances she had at a normal existence. Turns out talking to ghosts is just scratching the surface of her genetically engineered gifts. Shay learns she may be part of an age old prophecy that could save the entire race of cryptids. But can she?

Capture (Cryptid Tales #2) eBook only $2.99!
One this is for sure, Shay is in for the fight of her life.

Shay is finally learning who she is, and who it is she will become. But for now escaping the clutches of the evil Malsumis will have to be enough. Or is it?
In Capture Shay embraces other cryptids in order to defeat their common enemy.
She is willing to die trying to save her father and the love of her life, Hugh.
But can Hugh, her cryptid mate, protect her from the evil Malsumis? Or will she fall victim to his horrible plans?

Settle (Cryptid Tales #3) Release Date Late January/Early February
Betrayal leaves nasty scars. A soul departs. Love must conquer all, or be lost forever.

Shay's life has once again fallen into mystery as she discovers her father's whereabouts. On a mission to locate him and bring him home she learns more about who to trust than she thought possible. Her group of cryptids will be forced to rise again and defeat their common enemy, but they will also discover another hidden threat. As thier queen, Shay's discoveries in Settle, the final installment of the Cryptid Tales series, will shake the cryptid world forever.

About Brina:
Brina Courtney is a young adult author obsessed with chocolate, crime shows, and fantasy movies. She's spent the last few years as an elementary teacher and a high school cheering coach. She lives in a small town in Pennsylvania with her husband and two very loud, small dogs.

I like these covers because they draw my attention to the series and the author. I tend to like the covers of high fantasy novels more since they are more elaborate. Even so, I think these seem to fit the series well and I like the transition from each book. What are your feelings on these covers? 

And don't forget Book One REVEAL is FREE right now! Follow the link above to get your FREE copy!

A HUGE thanks to Rockstar Book Tours! Thanks Ladies! =)

Wednesday, January 9, 2013

Cover Reveal: The Seven Year King by Kiki Hamilton

THE SEVEN YEAR KING is the third installment in THE FAERIE RING series. I really enjoyed the first book and am waiting on THE TORN WING to arrive from BN.

Some info on THE FAERIE RING series:

THE FAERIE RING - Available Now!
A stolen ring, a broken truce, a kingdom in peril...

"The Faerie Ring is an entertaining magical-historical adventure!" - Kirkus Reviews

“Hamilton’s debut gracefully mixes fantasy, Dickensian London, and a dash of romance.” - Publisher's Weekly

THE TORN WING  - Available Now! 
A bloody escape, a deadly threat, a shocking revelation...

"This is a fun read - all but impossible to put down...  Lovers of fairy tales and Victorian England aren't the only
readers who will be charmed by this story of self-discovery."  - Kirkus Reviews

THE SEVEN YEAR KING  - Coming May 14th!
A deadly sacrifice, a heartbreaking choice, an uncertain future…
 THE FAERIE QUEEN  - Coming October 2013 (Cover reveal in June!)

So what do you think of the cover? I love it as much as I do the other two covers and I can't wait to get my hands on a copy and to see THE FAERIE QUEEN !

Tuesday, January 8, 2013

Cover Reveal: Winter Queen by Amber Argyle

Winter Queen
Fairy Queens 1
~Becoming a winter queen will make Ilyenna as cold and cruel and deadly as winter itself, but it might be the only way to save her people from a war they have no hope of winning.~

Mortally wounded during a raid, seventeen-year-old Ilyenna is healed by winter fairies who present her with a seductive offer: become one of them and share their power over winter. But that power comes with a price. If she accepts, she will become a force of nature, lose her humanity, and abandon her family.

Unwilling to pay such a high price, Ilyenna is enslaved by the one of the invaders, Darrien. While in captivity, she learns the attack wasn’t just a simple raid but part of a larger plot to overthrow her entire nation.

With the enemy stealing over the mountains and Darrien coming to take her to his bed, Ilyenna must decide whether to resurrect the power the fairies left behind. Doing so will allow her to defeat Darrien and the other invaders, but if she embraces winter, she will lose herself to that destroying power—forever.

Full Cover

Find more on Winter Queen and Amber Argyle.

I absolutely love this cover! I love the purple and blue and the way that the Ilyenna is posed with the fairies around her. I can't wait to read this one! What are your thought?